Close icon
Close icon

MA / PhD in Arts by Research

  • Programme Overview
  • Programme Content
  • How to Apply
  • Ask a Question
  • Programme Overview

    The Faculty of Arts at Mary Immaculate College has 13 different departments covering various disciplines in the area of Humanities. It offers academic leadership and postgraduate supervision within a broad range of research fields.

    Start your Research Journey

    Prospective postgraduates are encouraged to explore the research interests of the relevant department and to discuss their own ideas for research proposals with the respective Heads of Department or other faculty members as appropriate.

    Academic Departments in the Faculty of Arts are as follows: 

    • Drama and Theatre Studies
    • English Language and Literature
    • French Studies
    • Gaeilge
    • Geography
    • German Studies
    • History
    • Mathematics and Computer Studies
    • Media and Communication Studies
    • Music
    • Philosophy
    • Psychology
    • Theology and Religious Studies

    Read How to Apply for a Research Postgraduate programme at MIC here.

    There are also a number of Structured PhD programmes available at MIC. See list here.

    Postgraduate Research in Arts at MIC
    Postgraduate Research in Arts at MIC
    A Master's or Doctorate in an Arts discipline with the MIC RGS can reflect well on career prospects

    Contact

    Research and Graduate School Office

    T: +353 61 204318

    E: RGSO@mic.ul.ie

    Programme Content

    Faculty of Arts Departments

     

    Drama and Theatre Studies

    Head of Department: Dr Michael Finneran

    T: +353 61 204976

    E: Michael.Finneran@mic.ul.ie

     

    English Language and Literature

    Acting Head of Department: Dr Eoin Flannery

    T: +353 61 204386

    E: Eoin.Flannery@mic.ul.ie

     

    French Studies

    Head of Department: Dr Loïc Guyon

    T: +353 61 204352

    E: Loic.Guyon@mic.ul.ie

     

    Gaeilge

    Head of Department: Dr Máire Ní Neachtain

    T: +353 61 204947 

    E: Maire.NiNeachtain@mic.ul.ie

     

    Geography

    Head of Department: Prof. Des McCafferty

    T: +353 61 204317

    E: Des.McCafferty@mic.ul.ie

     

    German Studies

    Head of Department: Dr Christiane Schönfeld

    T: +353 61 204582

    E: Christiane.Schonfeld@mic.ul.ie

     

    History

    Head of Department: Dr Liam Chambers 

    T: +353 61 204534

    E: Liam.Chambers@mic.ul.ie

     

    Mathematics and Computer Studies

    Head of Department: Diarmuid O'Driscoll

    T: +353 61 204349

    E: Diarmuid.ODriscoll@mic.ul.ie

     

    Media and Communication Studies

    Head of Department: Dr Rosemary Day

    T: +353 61 204327

    E: Rosemary.Day@mic.ul.ie

     

    Music

    Head of Department: Dr Gareth Cox

    T: +353 61 204588

    E: Gareth.Cox@mic.ul.ie

     

    Philosophy

    Contact: Prof. Michael Breen

    T: +353 61 204990

    E: Michael.Breen@mic.ul.ie

     

    Psychology

    Head of Department: Dr John Perry

    T: +353 61 204311

    E: John.Perry@mic.ul.ie

     

    Theology and Religious Studies

    Head of Department: Dr Éamonn Conway

    T: +353 61 204353

    E: Eamonn.Conway@mic.ul.ie

    How to Apply

    Deadline for Applications: Variable

    Fees: Click here

    After you have read How to Apply for a Research Postgraduate programme at MIC here, download the application form here.

    *Application Fee form currently unavailable. Applicants can still apply and pay fee (EU: €33; non-EU: €55) when contacted by relevant office.

    Contact
    Research & Graduate School
    +353 61 204318

    Ask a Question

  • Programme Overview
  • Programme Content
  • How to Apply
  • Ask a Question
  • Welcome to the beta version of the new MIC website, if you spot anything amiss please let us know.