Close icon
Close icon

MIC Alumni

President of Mary Immaculate College, Prof. Eugene Wall, summed up MIC's desire to foster lasting links with alumni when he said that “individually and collectively, all of our students, both current and graduated, embody our College’s mission - ultimately to make the world a better place through our ideas, our innovations and our engagement. They have the ability to develop and shape ideas that will make a positive and lasting impact on the world”.

MIC Alumni of the Year Awardees 2018

Alumni Events

The annual MIC Alumni Reunion is our largest event for graduates and takes place in October. It is a wonderful opportunity to meet up with old friends, and reacquaint themselves with the many developments at MIC.

The reunion is open to all graduates from across the years and will provide a great opportunity to reminisce, network with other alumni and keep up to date with the many changes at the College. Milestone years for the 2019 Alumni Reunion are years that end in a ‘9’ or a ‘4’ i.e. 1949, 1954, 1959, 1964, 1969, 1974, 1979, 1984, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014.

Reunion activities include a ‘meet and greet’, mass in the College Chapel (optional), refreshments, group photographs and campus tours.

See the MIC Alumni & Friends Facebook page for up to date information or email

MIC Alumni Reunion
MIC Alumni Reunion
In 2017, the first class of the B Ed programme gathered to mark 40 years since their graduation
Alumni News & Events
Alumni News & Events
MIC's newsletter and Alumni Facebook page are good ways to stay in touch

Stay in Touch

MIC is glad to hear from our past graduates and there are a number of ways to engage with the College.

Alumni Newsletter

Sign up for the MIC Alumni & Friends Newsletter by filling in the form here.


The MIC Alumni & Friends Facebook page features regular news and updates about alumni and upcoming events. The official MIC social accounts also feature regular posts about current and former students and staff.

Let Us Know!

Do you have a recent appointment or achievement you want to share with the College community via social media? The College is always seeking graduates willing to do written/video testimonials about their experiences at MIC and the benefits of studying here. Please let us know or express interest by emailing

MIC Alumni Library Scheme

If you are a graduate of MIC and wish to borrow books from the College Library, there is a Summer Borrower Scheme. For a refundable fee of €50, you can borrow three books for two weeks from mid-May to the end of August. Terms and Conditions apply. For more information contact: or call +353 61 204370


Notable Alumni

MIC graduates are making a difference in a vast range of sectors including business, the media, sports, politics, religious affairs and more. Here are a few you might have heard of...

  • Pat McDonagh (businessman & founder of Supermacs)
  • Dr Carmel Naughton (philanthropist)
  • Jacqui Hurley (radio & television sports broadcaster)
  • Éamonn Meehan (former Executive Director of Trócaire)
  • Róisín Meaney (bestselling author)
  • Alphonsus Cullinan (Bishop of Waterford & Lismore)
  • Dáithí Ó Sé (broadcaster)
  • Jim Daly (politician)
  • Micheál Lehane (reporter & broadcaster)
  • Máirín Quill (politician)
  • Páidí Ó Lionáird (columnist & broadcaster)
  • Dara Ó Cinnéide (former Kerry footballer & radio broadcaster)
  • Stephen Ryan (music)
  • Tommy Bulfin (television commissioning editor)
  • Tony Killeen (politician)
  • Eimear O'Mahony (producer/director, RTÉ) 

The College has a strong sporting tradition and is extremely proud to have had countless inter-county GAA players study here, as well as prominent names in rugby, hockey and other disciplines.

MIC Alumna of the Year Award 2017
MIC Alumna of the Year Award 2017
Dr Carmel Naughton received the inaugural accolade in recognition of her contribution to society.
Professor Eugene Wall presents Dáithí Ó Sé with his Alumnus of the Year award
Dáithí Ó Sé - MIC Alumnus of the Year 2018
Professor Eugene Wall presents Jacqui Hurley with her Alumna of the Year award
Jacqui Hurley - MIC Alumna of the Year 2018
MIC Alumni reunion
MIC Alumni reunion
MIC Alumni reunion
MIC alumni


Elaine Crowley

Communications Executive (Acting) 

T: +353 61 774786